Road Trips: Conversation

I had such a good drive!

The drive from my apartment to my moms’ house in North Dakota is about seven to nine hours long depending on conditions (as well as your MPH).  We made it back just in time for dinner and comfortably settling in to the chilly North Dakota weather with a possible high of -1 tomorrow.  The joys of living so far north on plains lands.

Now, for most of those seven hours, my mom and I had extremely good conversation (which I find to be one of the hardest parts of most road trips).  We talked about all sorts of things and I got to catch up on what’s happening up here and I realized why coming home is so hard for me.  It’s centered around my younger brother, unfortunately.  To keep as much of my family’s life private this lends itself into the continual problem that my dad caused and continues to make worse.  We also talked about my switching majors, my friends and things that have happened to me since turning 21, as well as the love of my life.  It’s so nice to be able to talk to my mom about these things.  I heard her problems and felt them and thought about what I might be able to do to help mitigate certain circumstances, the things I could say to help straighten out my little brother.  The rest of the trip was spent in humble silence where I daydreamed about eye-candy (and really, intellectual-candy as well – I dislike spending time in my daydreams with less than competent people) and possibly zoned out once or twice.  What can I say?  Being driven around lulls me to sleep.

Moments like this make me realize how much I enjoy traveling and moving between places.  I hope to go on many road trips with my friends.  This would be such an awesome experience.  Ya’ll should head on out and take care to travel wisely!  Arrive safe!

Leave a Reply

